The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

The number of young people who have gained excessive weight in the western society has risen around 20% since ten years ago. As we all know that our body’s condition determines our physical’s health, this trend is very dangerous. It is not only affecting their condition at present but their future generation will also be affected. These children’s condition is caused by eating too much junk food and lack of exercise. In Addition, this problem will impact both the children and their next generation to have a higher chance of getting obesity and diabetes. Overweight is a health problem which is caused by consuming a lot of junk foods and not doing sufficient exercise. Children’s body has the highest rate of metabolism. By eating too much junk food, their body cannot process the fat that they consume. Moreover, by having lack of exercise, the energies that should be used for activity will be stored inside their body in a form of fat as well. Those factors will easily make the children gain more weight in a short time.