The percentage of obese children in Vietnam has been increasing in recent years. What are the causes and effects of this disturbing trend?

Nowadays, the percentage of obesity is becoming more and more popular in the world as well as in Vietnam, especially in children. There are many causes of childhood obesity and its consequences. The first cause of childhood obesity is an inappropriate eating habit. Children often tend to eat too much fast food that contains a large amount of grease such as fried chicken, fried sausages and drink sparkling water rather than eating fruits and green vegetables. In addition, the inactivity of children is also the cause of children suffering from obesity. Many children who have a habit of preferring to stay at home watching movies and playing games instead of going out to play or doing exercises can cause excess fat to build up in the body. And the final cause is influenced by psychological or emotional factors. Many studies have shown that the lack of parental care and education in early childhood is a factor leading to the risk of obesity. From these causes, childhood obesity has had a significant effects. Firstly, obesity makes children complex about their appearance. Sometimes children will feel less confident in their bodies when they go out or even be joked around by friends, which will make them passive, lonely or depressed. Moreover, obesity also makes children suffer from dangerous diseases such as gastrointestinal, cardiovascular, dyslipidemia, . . . Finally, obese children often start puberty early, so it will inhibit the height growth of children as adults if they are not treated early. In short, obesity has a lot of consequences for children so every parent should treat it as soon as possible to help the children have a good life and health.