the past few decades The past few decades have witnessed an escalating rate of wrongdoings, wreaking havoc on social stability and security

The past few decades have witnessed an escalating rate of wrongdoings, wreaking havoc on social stability and security. While a number of people opine that prison sentences for a longer duration can help reduce crime, I firmly advocate that there are optimal alternatives that will be more effective. On the one hand, there are sufficient grounds to laud lengthened imprisonment. First, offences will reflect on their heinous actions as well as receive sufficient rehabilitation by the way of educating them with moral lessons, community services. As a result, this measure can transform them into law-obedient citizens and successfully reintegrate them into society. Second, this method would act as a deterrent since it may lessen the number of future offenders. In fact, if they realized that they might be incarcerated, they would think carefully if it is worth to take the risk. On the other hand, it is my concrete belief that other superior measures are also essential to eradicate the crime rate. First, vocational schools will equip people with basic skills such as tailoring, mechanics, or carpentry, especially poverty since they are considered as breeding grounds for heinous acts. The rationale is that vocational training will assist them in obtaining a decent career and a sufficient income to cover their lives. As a result, their illegal intent can be eliminated which will save national budgets allocated for prison maintenance. Second, Ethics and Law must be incorporated into the school curriculum. Apparently, this subject educates people about human consciousness and behavior which contributes to foster people’s awareness in accordance with ethical standards and the provisions of the law explained. Hence, people will understand which behaviors are acceptable and which are not, and will not break the law. In conclusion, although lengthened imprisonment can be a great activity to mitigate malevolent activities, there are other effective measures that should be taken.