Incessant violence has ratcheted up public interest in the question of how to curb violence. Although some believe that parents should teach children not to hit back at bullies to do this, I believe that this measure would be unworkable and there are more acceptable measures.

Incessant violence has ratcheted up public interest in the question of how to curb violence. Although some believe that parents should teach children not to hit back at bullies to do this, I believe that this measure would be unworkable and there are more acceptable measures. Firstly, reducing the need for residents to travel for work, study or shopping purposes is impractical. No matter how effectively modern technologies allow us to work, study, or carry out online transactions, most of us still prefer face-to-face interactions, perpetuating the need to travel. This can be seen in the way business people choose to meet up halfway at a café to discuss a deal, how students prefer discussing an idea or a lesson at their school campus, and how we enjoy going to shopping malls. With our society still putting a significant amount of importance on real-life day-to-day conversations and interactions, the proposed scheme would not work.