The passage casts doubts about a painting of woman with white coat by the famous seventeenth- century painter Rembrandt.

The passage casts doubts about a painting of woman with white coat by the famous seventeenth- century painter Rembrandt. While the speaker provides a true examination of that painting by some reserachers, which reveals that the paining was actually by Rembrandt. First the passage talks about the inconsistent fur color coat of that women represented into the paining. The coat is very bright in color and rich compared to the linen cap which looks like a servant's cap. While speaker says that according to the recent examination fur color was enhanced after 100 years of the original painting to increase it's value. Secondly, according to the passage, the face of the women in that paining was under the shadow of the light reflected from below. The speaker provides accurate reason of this light and shadow discrepancy. he says that there was no reflection in the original portrait of the women with simple colored cloth. But it occurred after enhancing the color of fur coat claimed by the researchers. Third, the passage indicates that the painting was painted on a panel made of several pieces of wood glue together. On the other hand, the speaker refutes it by providing evidence which suggests that single wood was used for the original paining; however it was later glued with wood panel to make the paining grand and expensive. And, It has been also studied that the wood used in the original paining was from the same tree as the other paining done by Rembrandt.