The only way to reduce the amount of traffic in cities today is by reducing the need for people to travel from home for work, education or shopping.

Owing to the rapid increase in the worldwide population, the traffic system of each country has to face up to many problems and pressures. Therefore, many governments have come up with the idea of digitalising various public and private services. Even though it is undeniable that digitalisation can help decrease the need of people for travelling, I do not agree that this is the sole remedy for this issue. It cannot be denied that moving our things online can greatly reduce our need to travel. Take shopping as an example: in Vietnam, websites such as Shopee or Tiki have made it possible for people to browse products, compare prices and most importantly, pay electronically via the Internet. Another area, which is worth mentioning, is education: in Asian countries, it is a common practice that students go to extra class after school, which contributes to congestion especially in large cities, as most of the travelling takes place during rush hours. Moreover, as far as work is concerned, working from home has saved millions of people from going to and fro to their workplaces. In the fight against traffic congestion, it would not be complete without mentioning the role of public transportation. The convenience of public transportation would discourage people from using their private cars, therefore may reduce the amount of heavy traffic in large cities. For example, in France, a lot of people, especially Parisians, go to work by metro - an underground train system; or in Singapore, there are buses which are one of the most popular forms of transportation there. Besides, governments can also invest in the development of eco-friendly vehicles. For instance, in the Netherlands, there is a bike-sharing scheme where people can hire bicycles to travel to their offices or schools, and there are also separate lanes for bikers as well. Last but not least, there are some tasks that cannot be performed only at home. Taking doctors as an example: they need to go to the hospital to take care of the patients, and they also have to meet their colleagues as well. In the same way, when we shop online, delivery shippers have to work outside and continue their jobs to get our orders done. Many specific occupations require going to laboratories and doing research. Furthermore, the quality of online studying cannot be compared with that of classroom studying. As a matter of fact, it is necessary that people should come up with a more possible solution, rather than digitalising everything. In conclusion, it is irrefutable that an online economy can make a great contribution to lessening the amount of personal transportation, yet there are several occupations that cannot be done only from home, and various possible solutions are recommended: the government can either encourage the use of public transportation or invest more in the production of eco-friendly vehicles.