The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use.

The car was an inovation in the transportation field bringing with it the opportunity to move faster, althought, technology never stopped evolving, so practical alternatives have been invented. From my perspective, the extended number of vehicles on the streets of Britain suggests an unhealthy environement in which an echological movement should take place. However, in this situation an analysis is mandatory for us to get a positive result. Firstly, we can observe how the car ownership grew up to 29 million by the year 2000, less than 150 years after the creation of such products. These numbers show that there are not enough regulations regarding the excessive use of vehicles in order to create a healthier country with roads that are not so crowded. One city who touched the peak in this category is London, where the air quality decreased due to the big amount of gas. Secondly, different companies started to develop new mechanisms that are smaller and charged through electricity so they do not pollute. For example, the electric bike has been around for a few years by now and it should be more promoted because it has a slim shape so it does not disturb the traffic. Also, this kind of investions are silent and they do not produce toxic vapors. To conclude, the law has to be more strict towards car owners in order to create a cleaner world and at the same time to introduce harmless machines. These changes are compulsory in a highly populated place like Britain.