THE ONLY WAY TO IMPROVE ROAD SAFETY IS TO GIVE MUCH STRICTER PUNISHMENTS ON DRIVING OFFENCES.

Road safety is of paramount importance to all the public, regardless whether its urban or suburban. Some people are suggesting that the only way to develop road security is by imposing strict punishments for people who breach the traffic rules. From my perspective, I strongly agree with this statement because of strong deterrent and raises awareness. Following essay will discuss the matter in detail. On the one hand it is certain that scaring motorist is the best way to improve safety, hence, strong deterrent could avoid committing driving offences. For instance, the driving offences has been markedly decreased in Turkey since the authority imposed severe penalties like taking away driving licenses for driving drunk or high-speed, and increasing the fine for speeding and passing the red light from 200 TL to 600 TL two years ago. Beside of that, stricter punishments could enhance society awareness about driving safety. When they are published in the news, everyone commences talking about them with others, and they learn about what is not accepted and unsafe driving. This would assist people to become a more disciplined motorist and observe the law more prevalently. On the other hand, I would believe that safe driving can be encouraged not to punish drivers. For paying more attention and more traffic signs could be added to calm traffic, and it uses to warn people, and speed cameras can help to deter people. In conclusion, while other road safety measures can help to prevent offences, the most deterring way is to offer stronger punishments for inattentive drivers