All parents want the best opportunities for their children. There are some people who think that schools should teach children skills but others think having a range of subjects is better for a children’s future.

In this day and age, every parent desires that their child get the greatest chances. Some people are of the opinion that schools should include skills as part of their syllabus, while others believe that having a variety of subjects is greater for a child’s future. In my opinion, learning a new skill would better improve the child’s future as it would help them deal de-stress. Teaching a new skill to children will definitely go a long way in improving a child’s mental build up. For example, including a wood shop class in the curriculum gives the child the opportunity to craft things with his bare hands. Firstly, this will instil a sense of pride in the child that he could create something out of a plain block of wood. Secondly, the skills learnt will help him fix things in and around the house and take up further projects of house repair. Thirdly, the skills learnt could turn into a hobby for the child, which is a good stress buster. Having a variety of subjects as part of the school curriculum is detrimental for a child’s future. There is an added burden on the child to learn something new. For example, adding French as a subject in the school year. The child has to learn an additional language in addition to English, Hindi and Marathi. Initially, it could be new and exciting but later as it get more complex it could be stressful for the child and he could not perform well in his examinations. Thus, learning new skills for a child improves his future prospects rather than learning new subjects. The skills learnt will be used in day to day activities and could turn into a hobby and help the child de-stress. Teaching new subjects puts an additional strain on a child to learn and remember and can increase their stress and anxiety.