The older people who need employment have to compete with younger ones. What problems can this create? What are some solutions?

Senior citizens looking for a job have to contend against youngsters. My essay will figure out certain problems arising from this phenomenon before I put forward some feasible solutions. The fierce competition in labor market between the elderly and the young may be a trigger for certain problems. Firstly, this competition may be a culprit for barriers that prevent the elderly from landing a decent job because their young counterparts have advantages of physical strength and are higher motivated in work. For example, according to a survey of the National Economic University, 70% of business entities favor recruiting employees who are below 30 years old. Therefore, the unemployment rate among the elderly is accelerated, followed by a financial burden on their family. Secondly, competing with younger applicants, older people may be under a great deal of pressure. Therefore, this can be a trigger for severe psychic problems. Due to these above problems, the government may have an immediate intervention to handle this competition. First, the government can consider lowering the income tax levying on companies that employ a certain number of old workers. As a result, this scheme may encourage business entities to hire more elderly people in appropriate positions to earn concessional tax. Second, an agency may be established and well-funded to assist older people in seeking an appropriate job without requiring any payment. To be more specific, this agency can connect old applicants with proper employers and help both of them save time and cost of searching. In conclusion, competition between older people and their younger counterparts in the labor market may limit job opportunities and trigger mental health problems among senior citizens. However, these issues can be addressed by providing tax concessions to companies to encourage them to hire old employers and establishing a job agency.