The older generations tend to have very traditional ideas about how people should live, think and behave. However, some people believe that these ideas are not helpful in preparing younger generations for modern life.

The human being, due to the globalisation, undoubtedly have experienced a rapid change in recent years and that has impacted the way people live, interact and value old traditions to name aq few. In the bygone days, citizens adhered to the traditional ways of life and old ideas about how to face life in a different circumstance. But now, it is assumed that these ways are not very utilitarian for the adolescents in entering the modern life. Personally, I quite agree with the statement that these old ideas are not helpful in preparing the new generation to face an ever changing world in most of the cases and I have some reasons to support it which are explained in the following paragraphs. It is believed by many that technology in the past was not as same as it is right now. This made the older generations to usually learnt how to live, think and behave in the society through the available books or by the parents and teachers.   On the contrary, now, the youngsters can learn those from provided technology such as television and the internet. This causes the idea created among them are very different in which the oldest usually has traditional thinking. For instance, the old generation has an inclination to the early marriage which is no longer a better option in modern society. The older generation also despised the use of modern technology which is quite opposite among the modern generations. On the other hand, nowadays, the world seems like experiencing an alteration not only in technology but also in the way people solve the occurring problem. To illustrate, the older are likely to cope the issues with sitting together and discussing but now some of the youngers have a tendency to deal with that problem via technology offered like telephone, the internet etc. This illustration makes clear that modern life is likely to use modern idea also. There is no harm in adopting and following good traditions but if that restricts the new generation from exploring potential areas, that should be avoided. For example respecting someone senior is a tradition is that young generation should still follow but accepting superstitious ideas and old traditions that deter new generations to proceed ahead should be avoided by all means. Since the people from past generation had been surrounded by the older traditions and they do not easily accept changes, I would say most of their ideas are not helpful for the upbringing and preparing a new generation to face a whole list of new challenges in life that were not present in the past. In a nutshell, because the older generation lived in a different time and faced different types of challenges in life from that of the youngsters today, they tend to have very traditional ways to live their life and ideas which seem not convenient anymore to be utilised in the new era.