The number of Tv programs is growing day by day. Some people say it is good as it gives people more choices, while other says it affects the quality of TV programs. Discuss both the views

It is irrefutable that television is the main source of entertainment from decades. With time and increase in popularity, there is rapid growth in channels broadcasting wide range of shows. Some people believe that increase in such shows will provide people with a lot of options, however, some other believe that it is degrading the quality of the shows. According to me, both the perspectives have equal weightage. To begin with, initially there were very limited number of channels and people had to watch whatever was telecasted. Whereas, with increase in TV shows there are various varieties of shows available to choose for people based on their interest. For example, when it comes to children, some kids enjoy cartoons like Tom and Jerry in channel Cartoon Network and some other kids enjoy watching old stories like Akbar and Birbal. Increase in number of programs not only provide people with numerous options, but also these channel employees strive hard to create better quality shows, such as series Friends, GOT. However, some other people believe that this will hamper the quality of the TV shows. They argue that due to limited content, channels fail to grab people's attention, resulting in experimenting with the new shows. They try to copy ideas from other channels to increase the viewership and lose their originality, one of such copied shows is "Kaun banega crorepati" which was inspired from an English show. To fill in the time, they drag and prolong the small piece of story. News channels are best examples for this i. e. previously news was shown for brief amount of time, covering all stories across the world, however now that there are multiple channels broadcasting news 24X7, they have to show fake stories or drag the same story due to lack of content. To conclude, increase in number of TV programs will provide people with a lot of varieties to choose from, however there are chance of degrading the quality of content shown. This again depends upon the TV shows and channels.