The number of people working online from home has grown in some countries. What advantages and disadvantages can come from this trend?

Recent years have witnessed an enormous growth of employees who work from home using computers and the Internet. Whereas some argue that it is conducive to people's productivity, opponents disagree. This essay will illustrate the merits and demerits of this new working style. On the one hand, telecommuting is advantageous in balancing staff's family and workload. Research and surveys have pointed out that lack of time with family is the major reason for employee attrition(تناقص الموظفين). Furthermore, remote working has been a blessing for disabled employees who are unable to move physically. Not only are they able to realize their value, but society can also benefit from this trend to save experienced skills and public budget. Another benefit is for expectant mothers. Working from home helps them work until they are full-term and saves them from the hassles of commuting on public transport. Therefore, adopting and thereby encouraging work from home is effective in retaining the workforce On the other hand, as much as distance working is advantageous to individuals and society, the negative impacts on productivity should not be underestimated. Firstly modern business significantly emphasizes communication and collaboration. A team working from different locations undoubtedly has disadvantages in exchanging information. Secondly, if the management method shifts from traditional manager supervision to self-management, those who lack motivation might suffer from lower effectiveness. Consequently, the entities, including government departments and commercial companies would experience low productivity. Henceforth, it can be concluded that working from home, as a new means of employment has its pros and cons. The crux of the matter is whether the employers trust their employees and whether the staff can manage themselves efficiently.