The number of people who are at risk of serious health problems due to to overweight is increasing. What is the reason for the growth in overweight in people in society? How can this problem be solved

There is an increasing number of people who are struggling with obesity and this putting them at risk of serious life threatening diseases. There is a number of reasons for the growth of obese people in the society, just to name a few, lack of exercise, diets high in carbohydrates, genetics and medical conditions. Firstly, lack of exercise is probably the largest reason for overweight in the society. Exercise has been proven to help lose weight and keep a person healthy. People struggling with overweight usually do not exercise enough to lose the weight. Exercising at least three times a week and as little as 30 minutes each time helps to reduce weight. Secondly, eating a high carbohydrate or high calorie diet may be a reason for increasing obesity in people. Carbohydrates eaten are stored in the body as fat and if eaten in excess will cause obesity. A low carbohydrate diet decreases chances of obesity for example eating good protein like white meat and vegetables is very healthy. This inturn will keep people safe from getting diseases easily contracted by overweight people. Thirdly some medical conditions cause obesity and make it difficult to lose the weight for instance POCS is a disease most women struggle with and 80%of women with this condition have unexplained weight gain, predisposing them to other conditions like Diabetes Mellitus and hypertension. Women with this condition need to be given the right medications and of course with some exercise and good diet may lose the Lastly, genetics may also be a cause of weight gain. If there is a history of obesity in the family most people become obese. This however is difficult to resolve but it has been seen that change of lifestyle can still reduce weight in this case. In conclusion, overweight people can still lose weight by exercise, change of diet, and getting medical attention when needed despite the increase in obesity in the society.