In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

In many countries, there are more and more young people take a gap year after finishing high school. There are advantages and disadvantages of taking the gap year. However, I think this is an opportunity for them to have a clear career path and better financial position before going to the university Almost young people at this age don’t have much life experience, thus they merely know what they want to do or become in the future. Taking a gap year allows them to be exposed to the world to discover what works and what doesn’t work for them by taking a job or joining volunteer activities so they can define the meaning of their life and focus on the important things. In addition, taking a gap year might help them have better financial preparation. In the gap year period, they can take a job and earn more money for the future expending such as university tuition fees, additional education, taking health care services. So that they don’t have to worry too much when starting a 4-year university journey. In a nutshell, I do agree to have a gap year after graduation, which allows for having a clearer career path and finance preparation. With this advantage, they will be good for a long term journey