Opinions diverge on the necessity of funding cultural activities. While some claim it is an unnecessary investment, others believe both citizens and cultures would benefit if governments were to provide financial support for art and culture. I will discuss both views and state my own opinion in this essay. On the one hand, many people oppose investing in cultural activities because there are more serious issues to address. The deterioration of transport infrastructure in many cities, for example, is the major reason for the increased number of traffic accidents. Using money for the construction of new roads and highways would bring about immediate effects and save thousands of lives. In addition, nations across the globe are facing many environmental problems that require urgent attention, namely pollution and natural resource depletion. National leaders, therefore, should join forces with scientists to combat these issues by allocating financial resources to the development of renewab