The number of people being sent to prison is increasing year by year. While some people believe prison is the best way to tackle crime, others suggest that community service is more successful.

It is an incontestable fact that the quantity of jail going individual is increasing every year and it frequently generates a great deal of heated debate. The supporters of sentenced to jail think that it serves its purpose in an appropriate way, while opposite school of thoughts suggest involvement in social work is far superior. This essay deals with this controversial topic from a different perspective with justified illustrations in the upcoming paragraphs. To elaborate on the first viewpoint, the promoters of sentenced to prison express their agreement cogently due to multifarious reasons. First and most importantly, they believe discipline is the most powerful habit that can change their mind. To explain this further, in prison, there are lots of activities is going on regularly to teach them about discipline, such as prayer, education, help others etcetera that encourage them not to do crime in future. This point is aptly illustrated by a survey conducted by The Journal of Crime, found that the criminal those who participate regularly in the prayer, never committed to crime again. Another justification the advocators can put forward is that the prison controls the environment of the crime. That is to say that in the jail there is no option to commit any bad things. From the discussion its clear why prison is underpinned by many contenders. On the other hand, those who are in favor of social service to tackle crime have reasons that can’t be ignored and believe it is almost impossible to explicate this. The most important argument they present is that community work makes them more responsible about the nation. To be more precise, it helps them to get involve in work and build interpersonal relationship with their neighbours and retain from crime. One more point worth considering is that to survive people need money and if the community service would provide that money, they will never participate in any kinds of illegal activity. For example, in 2009, Canada released about 60 prisoners for the community work and after 10 months all of them get back to their real life. As a result, these facts clearly indicate the importance of mentioned view. Bearing in mind these sets of arguments, it can be seen that, both vantage points have their own explanation and support due to various reasons elucidated above making it a hot topic of discussion.