Some people thing that governments should spend more money on sports facilities for top athletes. Others ague that this money should be spent for sport facilities for ordinary people.

Some people assert that top athletes should be supported by governments by allocating more money to sports facilities, whilst others defend that this money should be spent on citizens. This essay will debate both these opinions, followed by a personal take on the matter. On the one hand, there are two primary reasons why more money should be allocated to top athletes to provide sports amenities. The main reason is that such sportspersons have been representing their nations in competitions arranging on an international scale; therefore, they are to be contributed by governments which are apt to rise their reputation worldwide. Another significant reason is incentive young generation by using these people’s accomplishments. Provide that supported athletes achieve success in well-known competitions, these achievements are able to take attention of the youngsters, who tend to take up some sport branches, and they might embark on such activities with envying the athletes’ successions. On the other hand, funding sports facilities for all fellow citizens have triggered the improvement of public health welfare. That is to say, the grave problem in a majority of countries is obesity, and this problem depends on less personal activity. Had sport places been contributed by national authorities to ameliorate their conditions, such issues would not have appeared dramatically in the societies. However, it is not too late to find a remedy of this; thus, with the assistance of spending more money for sports centres where citizens easily have access to opportunities, it can be constituted to public awareness on a large scale. Take Japan's government, which ensures their people with arranging sports activities publicly, as an example; the government is paying an incredible amount of money to build new sports centres where citizens can enter freely. By way of conclusion, spending money for citizens is a more beneficial and accurate way to improve public health standards than supporting only top athletes despite the fact that there are some compelling reasons for it.