The number of people being sent to prison is increasing year by year. While some people believe prison is the best way to tackle crime, others suggest that community service is more successful. ”

Prisons all over the world are experiencing an increase in population each year. This development started a debate about whether it is more effective to sent these criminals to prison or convict them with community service. On the one hand, in order to sustain social reformation and rehabilitation, community service might be an efficient way to punish criminals who are not posing a danger to the society. Usually these criminals are minor offenders who are struggling with poverty and unemployment. For instance, shoplifters who are stealing food and clothing from stores, they are only trying to provide for themselves and their families. Hence, for the purpose of helping these individuals to be involved back in society and learn new skills that will help to get a job, community service is a successful method of punishment. On the other hand, criminals that are highly dangerous and show a threat to human lives should be sent to prison, as they are psychologically not ready to be a part of the population. Criminals who commit certain crimes such as murder and rape, they tend to have repetitive behaviours. A clear example is that, murderers who have psychological traumas are usually serial killers which means they keep repeating their destructive behaviours. Thus, rehabilitating and giving behavioural therapy to these criminals in prison, will keep the community safe. To conclude, I agree that, dangerous criminals should be sent to prison for safety of everyone, however I believe that community service might be more appropriate for minor offenders who can be honest and well mannered citizens with the correct support.