The number of people being sent to prison is increasing year by year. While some people believe prison is the best way to tackle crime, others suggest that community service is more successful. Discuss both views.

Increased number of people are being prisoned every year. Some would argue that community service shows more success, while other argue that only prison can help to help to alleviate crime. Even though working for the community can change criminal's mind, victim will not feel safe knowing that criminal is out there. On the other hand, community service provides a great platform for a criminal to help others and gives an opportunity to be a better person again. Thus, their perspective towards society will change and consequently they will be less like to commit any crime again. For an instant, according to a research from Queen University suggest that 60% of criminals who provided community services are now living a normal life resulting in less number of crimes. On the other hand, although community service may benefit criminal, it will be hard for victim to fill safe. There are chances that crime will be repeated again if the criminal is not imprisoned. Victim can live in a constant fear. For example, Leena will not be able to go out for anything as she was kidnapped during her childhood if she will have to see kidnappers in the community. In conclusion, Imprisoning the criminal is the only best way to reduce crime and community service is not an option as it is important for victim to feel secure.