The number of overweight children in developed countries is increasing. Some people think this is due to problems such as the growing number of fast food outlets. Others believe that parents are to blame for not looking after their children's health. with these views?

A Healthy population is one of the most challenging problems for the government. The increasing number of obese people is contributing to this problem. While many argue that the parent's negligence is to blame, I believe the growing number of fast food chains are the culprit. Firstly, these big companies prioritize profits over food quality. This is because there is much more competition nowadays and fast food outlets are fighting for every penny on an item. For instance, Subway is known to add preservatives over the safe quantity, to increase the shelf life of a product. In one case they were serving a month old meat item. Furthermore, a lot of additives are added to make food tasty. One of them is MSG. It is known to reduce a child's brain function. All these things are added to get more people indulging in their food, so that their sales are increasing. All these factors are the reason for health decline in children because they are the age group consuming the most fast food. Secondly, due to the expansion of these fast food chains, health stores are decreasing. This is because they are so readily available, plus they offer food for less with great deals. For example, Dominos is now present in every corner of a block. They have free delivery and tempting advertisements that make healthy food boring. In addition, the government should tax these companies more to encourage local food stores. This will motivate more local businesses to open up, and as a result, children will get healthy. To conclude, unless the government starts making strict rules for fast food outlets, this problem will only escalate. These outlets are making our population, unhealthy by lowering food quality and expanding their business.