The number of older people is increasing Some people think that this will cause problems in their countries others believe this group is important to society Discuss both views and give your own opinion

With the availability of good medical treatment, the life expectancy of elderly people has increased. Many opine that this may lead to financial pressure for the government whereas others argue that having more old people will help the society to grow morally. I believe senior citizens have an important role to play to mold the next generation into becoming a better and responsible individual. As technology advances, the medical field can increase the total life expectancy in humans. This has helped to increase the survival rate of old people. For some, this scenario has built up financial stress in the healthcare system. As, a huge amount of budget goes into treating these elderly patients, who according to them do not contribute anything to society. So, they think that instead of allotting a huge budget for a senior citizen that amount should be spent on other important things like education or child care facilities. However, it is the responsibility of the government to help with the treatment of old people as they were once taxpayers to the nation, and have already contributed their part to society. On the other hand, many people think that having elders in society can help to impart moral values to the children. As, children are the future generation of a country, helping them to grow into better individuals is of utmost importance. Apart from that, as most of the old people are retired, they can help to look after their grandkids. Nowadays, both the parents have to work full time in order to meet both ends, grandparents are the best option to have as a caretaker. They can also help to impart the family and social values in them. In India, the majority of kids are raised by their grandparents, and they have shown to grow up into a lot of adjusting individuals. In conclusion, saying that elders are the problem to the healthcare budget is totally illogical. They have done their part by paying taxes when they had to. Rather older people are an asset to every nation, as they can help the future generation to become a good person, by sharing valuable knowledge.