The number of old people is increasing dramatically. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, the development of medical aid has brought about the rise in life expectancy which leads to a concern whether this trend is beneficial. This essay disagrees with the opinion that the merits are overridden the demerits as numerous aspects should be taken into account to ensure the quality of life of the elderly. To begin with, it is apparent that an upsurge in the residents’ life expectancy requires superior health care services to maintain the fitness level of the elderly which imposes pressure on the governmental funds. In fact, it is argued that illnesses such as diabetes, cancer, hyper-tension are unavoidable in the old age; therefore, more medical services should be provided to the olds so that people would be able to live healthily. However, others believe that the nationwide fund should be allocated on social innovations to upgrade the living standards; for example, transportation construction and other infrastructure should be alleviated to boost a nation’s progress in a long term. As a direct consequence, an increase in life expectancy may adversely affected one nation’s economical status. In addition, a large number of people suppose that elderly people may prevent the young from obtaining career promotion. The reason is that the majority of high position at work currently belong to people who are highly- experienced and typically people at the old age are usually considered as the skilled ones. As a result, it is said that unemployment rate in the young community is on the rise due to the fact that most occupation, especially those involve with management, prefer elder workers. In conclusion, it is clear that more residents at the old age result in the financial burdens on a nation and family as well as career prospects of the youth; as a result, I believe that this trend imposes shortcomings rather than benefits.