The number of elderly people in the world is increasing. What do you think are the positive and negative effects of this trend?

Nowadays, there is an increase in the number of elders in many countries, which leads to both positive and negative impacts on society. On the one hand, this trend can benefit society. The older people, undoubtedly, are more experienced and exceptional in certain areas than the younger generations, and so the society can benefit from them. For example, health practitioners who are aged 65 or more are more likely highly-skilled than the younger doctors and nurses. This is because they have studied more cases as their age increased, which means they not only know how to use conventional therapies but also know how to treat some unusual diseases with alternative therapies. As a result, patients can have better treatment from these older health practitioners. On the other hand, the growing number of elders harms a country's economy. To explain this, most of the elderly do not work because they have already retired, and the government consequently needs to pay their pensions, which is increasing because of the rise in the number of older people. That is to say, the country may suffer from a financial loss as a result of this rising spending on pensions. Furthermore, governments also need to spend more on the welfare of the elders, such as health care, nurseries, and free screening examinations, and this, as a consequence, also accounts for a considerable proportion of the financial budget. In conclusion, despite sufficient experience and excellent skills, elderly people may require an enormous amount of money from the government to be spent on their pensions and welfare as the number of them is growing.