The number of elderly people in the world is increasing. What do you think are the positive and negative effects of this trend?

The number of elderly people has increased significantly throughout years, eventually questions arise as to what are positive and negative effects of this issue, to fully understand this phenomenon, in this essay we will discuss both sides of the perspective. “In the last 200 years the population of our planet has grown exponentially, at a rate of 1. 9% per year. If it continued at this rate, with the population doubling every 40 years, by 2600 we would all be standing literally shoulder to shoulder”, strong arguments exist to support the idea that population growth is beneficial, but on the other hand various drawbacks may be noticed. There would be many advantages of living longer, meaning older people would spend more time with their families and would be able to enjoy life and gain more experience in their lifetime, furthermore they would have more time to engage with younger generation, elderly people are the ones who are the best at giving advice, it would be equally beneficial for generation z and millenials to observe their mindsets. Nevertheless, as people would grow old, they become weaker and they become dependant on their families, who are the ones taking care of them, thus might lead them feeling like a burden to the family, moreover there is crystal clear gap between cultural generations, older generation generally is not able to keep up with the lifestyle of youngsters, which usually leads to arguments between them. For the above-mentioned reasons, I firmly believe that older people have a significant presence in today’s society, however countries should maintain certain amount of people so we do not stand shoulder to shoulder.