The NRA believe more guns make the country safer. To what extent

There are both good and bad sides of legalising guns. The issue has always been a topic of debate. The conclusion has to be drawn by weighing out the statistics surrounding gun ownership vs gun violence. It is commonly believed by gun owners that owning a gun helps in increasing the safety of an individual by allowing the law-abiding citizens to protect themselves. However, looking at the statistics drawn on the paragraph above, the story has something else to say on whether guns actually make as safer. It is natural to worry about safety during a national emergency and trying to do the best to protect ourselves and the family members. However, the problem arise as our perception of risk is typically distorted: We exaggerate certain kinds of risk and minimize others. Likewise, having a gun at home could be dangerous for a family, especially with young children or teens. Considering the majority of gun owners are very inconsiderate of securing the weapon, children are at high risk of gun violence. Even if the firearm is sealed properly, there would still be greater chances for an individual to be victim of homicide or suicide. Moreover, the prevalence of gun in the community encourages the incidents like robbery, theft, and other crimes. Even minor disagreement or physical altercations can turn into a violent crime with common people being armed with weapons. To conclude, I disagree with the statement that more guns make the country safer. I believe the guns should not be legalised for common people and only be handed to those who are held responsible for protecting the society