The news is an important source of knowledge for all of us about the world, especially in this era of technology. Journalists are mainly responsible to bring this news to us but not all of them are true to their responsibilities and ethics. How much can we trust the journalists?

In this day and age, thanks to the technological advancements, people can instantly access to global information through many news and reports. This condition also raises a question of integrity and ethics of journalists. From my perspective, we cannot completely trust the journalists for the following reason. It is inevitable that the competition of journalism industry can negatively affect the reliability of news and reports in some ways. In order to gain the achievement over their counterparts, some publishing agencies can include an enormous number of click bait news on their web pages. What is more, it is the speed requirement for writing articles that make the writers cannot criticize their report before submitting to their managers. To exemplify, in the COVID-19 Pandemic, there comes a large amount of superficial news on the social media, which derives from from lack of journalists’ authenticity. It is undeniable that there are still many couragous and professional pressman who are taking their profession as a responsibility to bring the readers more profound news. Nevertheless, due to the competition in this industry, the journalists seem to take the risk of their own career to show the truth to the audience. Such journalists are showing us the true value of information; furthermore, it is also a way to make the life better. Taking all things into consideration, we can obtain more benefits from the help of innovative techniques. However, we also cannot prevent its drawbacks, namely fabricated news is ubiquitous. For this reason, as the informed audiences, we should be wary of unreliable journalists and aware of doing crosscheck for the facts and truths when reading a piece of information.