THE NEGATIVE EFFECTS OF GLOBALIZATION

Globalization has changed the world forever in many areas. Although there are several positive effects of globalization, there are also many negative effects that need to be taken into account. Globalization results in the disappearance of cultural diversity, unemployment, and low living standards. The first result of globalization is the disappearance of cultural diversity. According to studies, the culture diversity before globalization is much higher than now; moreover, it is estimated that the disappearance of culture diversity will keep continuing. I think that the disappearance of cultural diversity is the biggest negative effect of globalization. The second result of globalization is the low living standards. The economy of some countries (especially the economy of third world countries) is getting worse and worse because of globalization; for instance, the rate of inflation and the price of goods has increased; furthermore, the salary of workers has decreased. As a consequence of the economic problems, the living standards of people living in these countries keep decreasing. The third result of globalization is unemployment. As I mentioned above, the economy of some countries is in trouble due to globalization and people have low living standards. In addition to the low living standards, these countries have an unemployment problem. The number of people who are unemployed is really high; furthermore, unfortunately, this number keeps increasing. To sum up, unemployment, low living standards, and the disappearance of cultural diversity are the three main negative effects of globalization. In addition, I hope that necessary steps will be taken, and the negative effects of globalization will be eliminated in the future.