The Muskingum scheme is one of the most popular and widely used methods in flood routing

The Muskingum scheme is one of the most popular and widely used methods in flood routing. The usual procedure in using this model is to optimize the parameters that represent physical characteristic of river. These parameters are gained from the upstream and downstream historical data and used to estimate the downstream hydrograph without any updating kernel. Improved method which is coupled with updating kernel like transfer function method needs upstream hydrograph (as Muskingum input) to predict downstream hydrograph while upstream flood data is not available at same time. Predicting the upstream hydrograph as the model input in the prediction period, causes the difference between the structure of this hydrograph and the upstream hydrograph in the calibration period. as a result, the optimized parameters in the calibration period do not provide proper performance in the prediction period. In this research, instead of using the observed upstream hydrograph in the calibration period, the predicted upstream hydrograph in the calibration period is used to optimize the parameters. In the light of this, parameters obtained via genetic algorithm provide better performance for predicting downstream hydrographs. This process lead to unify the structure of the upstream hydrographs in the calibration and forecast period. Also in this paper, constant parameter Muskingum stage (CPMS method) is presented and the performance of combining CPMS with transfer function method has been investigated and compared with the results obtained by combining Saint-Venant equation with transfer function method. The mentioned structural modifications show the improvement of downstream flood prediction which is applied by Muskingum model.