The movement of people from villages to cities for work can cause serious problems in both places. What are the serious problems associated with this? What measures can be taken to solve these problems?

People moving from rural to urban for jobs, results in concerns for both the places. This will largely lead to housing and traffic issues in the cities and depletion of farming in the villages. However, there are many different measures that could be implemented by the government to resolve the issues of urbanization. Such migration from small villages to big cities in search of well being give rise to several problems. One of which is lack of adequate housing in the cities. Large cities are already crowded and lack vacant land for the construction of multi story buildings, hence, to accommodate new immigrants they have to cut more trees to create space. Moreover, increased city population in an area will also mean more traffic congestion and more pollution. Many studies have shown that the majority of metropolitan cities experience poor air quality which is hazardous for its residents. Consequently, more people coming from rural to urban will merely aggravate these problems. Whereas, in villages urbanization has resulted in shortage of labor which has led to depletion of farming. Less people on farms have reduced the agricultural output, thus less crops available for consumption at an inflated price. Similar trends have force many agricultural countries to end up importing staples from other countries to meet demand. There are a number of ways to tackle the problems caused by the people who migrated to cities in search of jobs from small towns. Firstly, the government should take initiatives in order to create new work opportunities for people in villages. Secondly, government should also invest in infrastructure, hospitals and schools so that better facilities are available to villagers so that they are not encouraged to leave their hometown. To conclude, unless the government spend its budget on developing the rural areas, the problem of urbanization could not be solved.