Some people think that spending a lot on holding wedding parties, birthday parties and other celebrations is just a waste of money. Others, however, think that these are necessary for individuals and the society.

Celebrating events is getting increasingly popular nowadays. While a number of people are in opinion that spending huge amount of money on these events is a mere of waste of money, others think it has a value addition. This essay will discuss why the few think that the cost is justified but why it is more of a wastage. People organise lavish parties on different occasion like birthday, wedding etc. Firstly, people get together in those events and make new friends which in turn boost their social life. Also, these event create long lasting memories in the minds of the people. For example, whenever we watch the recording of the events, we would be reminiscent of our kith and kin and re-live the moments we spent with them. In addition, it is a source of income to many people like florist, caterers etc. Therefore, we can say expenditure is useful in nature. On the other hand, while spending, people tend to go overboard. This would generally result in financial hiccups which last many years. Also, there is a lot of food wastage during the bash which can otherwise be used to feed the needy. For instance, we can find news where people even commit suicide as they were unable to repay the money they borrowed from money lenders. Hence, we can understand why over spending is more of a problem. To conclude, with more spending capacity these days, people are spending more to celebrate the occasions. This essay discussed why people spend huge amount on galas and also why it is more of a misuse. In my opinion, people have to be cautious of their spending capacity and use the money in more productive schemes like investing for their offspring's future needs rather than wasting on celebrations.