The movement of people from agricultural areas to cities to work can cause serious problems in both places. What are the serious problems and what measures can be taken to solve this problem.

Many people, these days, are migrating from the rural areas to the urban settings for better work opportunities. However, this transition can become an underlying cause of major issues for both the places. This essay will discuss those problems and will propose measures to ameliorate the situation. First and foremost, owing to the increasing number of people moving towards mega cities, the pressure on basic amenities, such as, water, clean air to breath and accommodation is dramatically increasing. Consequently, the living standard of the cities is decreasing. For instance, Mumbai city in India welcomes around 1 million people each year, and as the living grounds and water supply is limited in the urban area, slum areas have grown there and water scarcity is one of the major problems in the municipality. Secondly, as people are ambitious these days and moving towards metropolitan areas, the growth of the urban areas has come to a halt. As the government mostly neglects the areas where only a handful of people dwell, such places have been deprived of development. To solve such issues, the government should put more emphasis on developing the agricultural areas. They should focus on generating better job opportunities in such areas so that people should not be willing to move out in search of better life. Secondly, the government should also set a threshold on the number of people entering a city according to the resources available there. For instance, Canada has started a program to promote settlement in suburban areas so that Ontario province can become less populated. In conclusion, as more individuals are moving from agricultural areas to big cities, the load on natural resources is increasing and the development of rural areas is not being done. But these problems are not insurmountable, and can be tackled if the authorities start taking initiatives and take above mentioned measures.