Should retirement age be fixed for everyone

Retirement age has been a hot topic in recent years. A number of people believe that retirement age should depend on occupation and should not be the same for everyone. This essay will discuss both sides in detail and put forth the argument that the type of work should determine the age of retirement. Having a common age offers some advantages. It simplifies the pension policy planning for governments because they only need to look at one criteria for pension policy, and that is the number of people who will turn 65. If this age varied by occupation, the government's job would be a bit more complicated. Further, setting a single criteria, which is applicable to everyone, seems fair. However, is it really a fair system? The concept of retirement age is based on the principle that human skills diminish with age and people are no longer employable beyond a certain point. It certainly does not imply that people will become unemployable at the same time even though they work in different fields. Take the case of a 61 year old truck driver who committed suicide because he could no longer drive 50 hours in a week, the minimum hours that were required to earn his salary. Moreover, a recent survey of workers in this profession highlighted a sharp increase in accidents for workers over the age of 60. There has to be a job based approach to retirement. If one is employed in either of two kinds of jobs, they should be allowed to end their professional career early: jobs where skills diminish with age and jobs with high stress levels. Under the first category, there are truck drivers, oil field drillers while healthcare workers, psychologists, criminal investigators belong to the second group. I believe that the kind of work one does determines the longevity of a career. One size fits all approach can not be applied. However, this age should be common across all identified occupations in order to keep things relatively simple for framing pension polcies, and yet allow people to end their work life with dignity.