The most common way to reduce humidity

The most common way to reduce humidity interference is to combine hydrophobic sensing elements on hydrophobic substrates. despite the fact that this approach is simple and effective, it limits the options for selecting other sorts of measurement elements. generally, this method requires combining hydrophobic sensing probes on hydrophobic substrates at the expense of losing the opportunity to use hydrophilicity to increase the dimension or power of the sensing. Hydrophilicity can add some other dimension to the colorimetric array to increase its sensing power. for instance, a few colorimetric chemical reactions can be accelerated with water vapor, which cannot only increase the sensitivity but additionally reduce the response time of the sensor. If humidity interference can be remedied with a hydrophilic sensing system, it opens the way for the implementation of hydrophilic instructions in colorimetric gas sensors and the enlargement of applications [356]. The mammalian olfactory system operates in an aquatic environment, which means that the sensing mechanism is compatible with water [352]. a number of the color indicators used for the array of colorimetric sensors are pH indicators, which are usually generated by using hydrophilic film as a color carrier, which is why colorimetric indicators typically work via changing the pH due to the dissolution of the preferred chemicals within the water. but, if the carrier has poor hygrometry or if the ambient humidity is limited, the sensitivity and their performance of this kind of indicator might also decrease. considering moisture affects the sensitivity and effectiveness of color change, highly hydrophilic or water-containing materials such as hydrogels can be very beneficial to be used within the instruction of indicators to enhance the color response of pH-sensitive dyes to the preferred chemical substances. [283]. to investigate the opportunity of minimizing moisture interference in a hydrophilic colorimetric sensing system, a hydrogel has been introduced which could keep up to 90% of water, as a matrix for loading sensing probes and regulating micro-humidity within the chemical reaction assay area. Hydrogels have previously been used as obvious films/substrates in colorimetric sensors to offer a micro-liquid environment for enriching analytes, increasing sensitivity, and mimicking the olfactory mucosa [356].