The most common solution for criminal behavior is prison but many believe that education is a better method.

Crime is the one of the most problematic aspects in each country, and many try to prevent it via various ways. While there is a huge argument about crime solution, I believe education and prison are equally important to tackle this issue. Although crime is usually linked to poverty, over the last few years there has been a significant rise in crime rate in many countries where financial prospects are seen. The main reason such growth is considered lack of decent education. For example, in the West crime happened more often than in eastern countries despite the fact that they are less developed. Take Central Asia as an example, where crime rate is considerably lower than some developed countries, people in such countries are usually educated from early childhood to acquire a set of beliefs and values regarding what is right and wrong. As a result, children unconsciously make a habit of obeying these rules which help to shape their behavior in future. Furthermore, despite the clear benefits education can bring about, it should also be taken into account that there are other factors that can contribute crime such as income inequality, personality, diverse social background and etc. And these factors could lead people to feel free to steal, murder, violate social laws and perpetrate any crime they choose if there is not threat of prison. A good example of few crimes can be seen in such countries with strict, mandatory sentence guidelines. In eastern Asia for example death penalty is still applied for drug trafficking and distribution which can often curb drug abuse. To sum up, in addition to providing early moral education, prisons also should be maintained. While education shapes people’s personality, prisons can help to deter them from a criminal lifestyle