Foreign language learning in Kazakhstan

It is not a secret that all people learn foreign languages, some later, some earlier. I have been studying English since secondary school, from 5th grade. But actually my parents thought that it would be better if I started learning a new language from the time I started school, in the 1st grade. My early start of learning English has given me advantages, but not significantly. So I do believe that it would be better if you start learning a new language if you are ready to learn. Some parents complain that their children’s brains have not developed yet in the way of understanding the structure of new language. Which means that it will not be as effective as if they were studying language later, when they can differentiate some basics of language structure. They believe that children should first learn the structure and aspects of their mother tongue. For example in Russia you first learn cyrillyc alphabet for the first lessons. Children learn how to write, how to pronounce sounds. Let’s imagine that after this lesson young learners will have English class. They will have to switch their language perception in their brains. Even students of colleges may mix up languages in different language lessons. Obviously it will be hard for kids to learn languages at the same time. But if a child already knows the alphabet of his own language, it would be easier for him to learn a new alphabet. That is why I think that children should start learning a new language only if they already know their own language's basic aspects. On the other hand it will develop logic and critical thinking of young learners. They will have a fundamental understanding of language that will help them in the following years. Students will not waste their time on drilling the alphabet. They will read and write in foreing language in a such early time of their life. More time you learn a language, the more knowledge you will get. In conclusion, I want to say that it certainly depends on the child. Whether his abilities in language are good or not. Some of the kids may struggle with learning, not only in language but in other disciplines. We should look at children's abilities. But my own opinion is that it would be better If a person starts learning a new language if they already know their own language.