The most argumentative technology in the world

The most controversial technology that I know about is nuclear technology due to its potential threat known to the world, despite its advantages. I think this technology should continue to exist as long as its use remains limited to power generation and medical science but not for weapons. The idea of producing weapons of mass destruction that requires nuclear technology will possibly have its grave consequence. These nuclear weapons can cause massive devastation and kill millions of people within a few minutes during any tension escalation between rivals. Since the world has not forgotten the catastrophe in World War II, no one would want to see another global war such as World War III. Hence, I do not support this use which may jeopardise millions of lives. However, the contribution of this technology to the power sector will be useful. It can help produce clean energy that may also be cost-effective, compared to conventional sources like oil, gas and coal. These sources, according to almost every environmentalist, are causing global warming, besides being expensive. On the other hand, nuclear energy can effectively deal with these problems, especially in under-developed countries like Pakistan, facing energy crises and having a limited budget. Thus, avoiding this technology may make the countries restrain from reaping this advantage. Similarly, the use of this technology seems to have brought a revolution in medical science. Now, finding out about any fatal disease and its cure have become somewhat reliable and accurate. Cancer, for instance, can now be easily diagnosed at its initial stage and treated. Therefore here, this technology should remain in use. To conclude, nuclear technology needs to exist when serving and saving human beings and not destroying them. Nevertheless, any misuse of it will do more harm than good.