The media is increasing interest in famous people who have ordinary backgrounds. Why do you think people are interested in the lives of famous people? Do you think this is a good thing?

In recent times, more people are interested in following famous and rich celebrities. Nowadays, all media like newspapers and magazines are writing more on the well-established people with common backgrounds. Increasing people's interest in the lives of accomplished people and competition to survive in media world is the main reason behind this trend. In my opinion, following successful people and reading about them is definitely a good thing as it motivates others to follow and achieve their dreams. To begin with, first and foremost reason is due to the introduction of different online mediums like social media site, which have given access to common people to follow the celebrities and successful people. In other words, people can connect with them directly, which was never the case in earlier times. In addition, these celebrities share their life stories and experiences online which common people can relate to. Another reason is that people have been always attracted to the glamour. That is to say, they like pomp and show and following and reading about celebrities fulfils their desires and makes them relaxed. For example, In India people are always following Ambani family and always interested in their lives, because they feel attached to this family. Finally, media houses nowadays have to survive in tough market conditions, and will publish stuff which is liked by their readers. However, in my perspective, there are arguments to support that following famous people is completely acceptable. Firstly, regularly reading about their life events keep the people connected and related. In other words, people follow them religiously. As a result, celebrities and famous people can become role model for them and government can get their help in implementing various programs for betterment of society. To illustrate, Prime Minister of India requested famous movie actors and celebrities to request their fans and followers to take part in Cleanliness Drive called “Swachh Bharat Abhiaan”. This resulted in common people coming together for the cause. It was a successful event for the country. Secondly, connecting directly with their role model can help people in taking learnings from their experiences and advices. To put it in another way, common man will be motivated to achieve goals after reading experiences of successful people. Thus, it is good thing to follow and know well about the successful people. In conclusion, glamour and paparazzi are the major reasons people are interested. It is a good to follow role model as it not only helps government to achieve individuals to achieve goals and but also, motivates individuals to achieve life goals. Therefore, in my view, this trend is good for society as it helps both people and government bodies to achieve personal targets.