The measures to resolve commercial disputes under Vietnamese law

Currently, business and commercial activities are tending to increase in terms of the number of disputes, increasingly complex nature. Therefore, besides the traditional method of dispute resolution by the Court, one of the preferred methods that the disputing parties are interested in choosing is to use commercial mediation. This method is widely used by many developed countries around the world and is considered an effective commercial dispute resolution method with many advantages, specifically as follows: - The benefits of commercial mediation in resolving commercial disputes are first of all maintaining a cooperative relationship between the parties, saving time and costs of dispute resolution. - The settlement of disputes by commercial mediation has simple and flexible procedures and the disputing parties have the right to decide on their own dispute resolution such as: selection of commercial mediators, order and procedures, time and place of mediation. . . - This method of dispute resolution can keep the business secret and the dispute through the parties having the right to agree or refuse to conciliate; reserves the right to request that the mediation be conducted publicly or not publicly. - In addition, the parties can also express their will and decide on the content of the mediation; reserves the right to make its own decisions, to choose any mediator as well as the location of the mediation so that a mediator with expertise in the matter in dispute can be found. - To ensure that the results of conciliation are implemented in practice, it is necessary to have a mechanism to ensure the enforcement of the results of successful conciliation by state coercion. Accordingly, Articles 15 and 16 of Decree No. 22/2017/ND-CP stipulating the documents on successful conciliation results are effective for the parties in accordance with the civil law and documents on the results of the conciliation. Successful conciliation results will be considered and recognized in accordance with the civil procedure law. Out-of-court conciliation results recognized by the court that issue a decision will be enforced by the civil judgment enforcement agency in accordance with the law on civil judgment enforcement (Clause 8, Article 419 of the 2015 Civil Procedure Code).