The manufacturing and use of cars damages the environment but their popularity is increasing. Why is this happening? How could this be controlled?

Cars are becoming more common among people, while, the environment is affected greatly by the production as well as the usage of these vehicles. Many factors are responsible for their popularity and certain steps need to be taken to protect the habitat from their deleterious consequences. There are a number of reasons responsible for the increased demand of cars among public. The most telling one lies in the fact that such technological advancements have made the life much easier and convenient. Moreover, travel with comfort offered by cars is also one of the attractive features. Not only do people save time by covering long distances in a few hours, but they do not have to rely on others to commute anywhere. Apart from this, individuals are not aware about the effects of pollution released by these vehicles. Furthermore, various non-biodegradable waste equipment are disposed while the manufacturing without knowing their consequences to the ecosystem. As a result, each and every individual prefer to own and travel by a private car than any other mode of transport. However, measures to deal with this problem are many. First and foremost, certain awareness campaigns should be organised by the government to inform the public about its impacts on the environment. Secondly, the administration should impose stringent regulations that each family needs to be allowed to own one car only and encourage carpool. As, it would be helpful to reduce the increasing number of cars on roads to some extent. Last but not least, the major responsibility is on the public of the nation to use public transport or bicycle if possible to conserve the habitat. In conclusion, the convenience and comfort offered by this advanced machinery has made it popular among individuals as they lack awareness regarding its impacts on surroundings. However, equal contribution by the government as well as the people can reduce its harmful effects to the environment.