One problem faced by almost every large city is traffic congestion. What do you think the causes are? What solutions can you suggest?

Nowadays, traffic congestion is a major issue which is faced by almost all big cities and towns due to an increase in automobiles and don't follow the traffic rules. This essay will focus on the reasons behind gridlocks and solutions for this problem. There are several causes that develop traffic jams such as populated areas, parking on roads, less usage of public transport, etc. One of the major reason is the enlargement of the number of private automobiles that generate a rush of cars on roads. Sometimes, it converted into traffic congestion. It is claimed by traffic police of India that in the time period of covid lockdown more than 95% fall in traffic. Thus, traffic congestion originate many problems not for general public but also for traffic control police. Another cause of traffic congestion is not following parking and traffic rules. Most of the people have not learnt traffic rules, signs and directions, etc. Moreover, people are not aware about prototypes related to parking on roads. Thus, they park their vehicles anywhere which create congestion on roads. There are numerous measures that should be taken by the government to control traffic congestion. Firstly, improve the quality of public transportation so that people avoid to travel through their own vehicles. Secondly, build broad roads that will give more vacant space on roads to move. Thirdly, provide guidance of rules and regulations of parking on road with planning numerous awareness programmes of road activities. To sum up, by generating more public transportation and stricter traffic laws by the government will improve the overall congestion problems on roads.