Some organisations believe that their employees should dress smartly. Others value quality of work above appearance.

Dressing smartly for a job has always been valued in some industries while it has been argued that employers should focus on the performance rather than what the employee wears or looks like. I believe that both of these arguments are valid depending on the job or the industry that people work in. On one hand, there are several industries that demand that their employees should dress smart. Most companies that operate in these industries have their employees working as representatives of their business which in turn employees to dress up for their work. For instance, sales representatives or receptionist have to dress carefully for their meetings with clients as they are directly representing the values of their employers to the customers. Alternatively, companies also believe that appearing and dressing smarter will help to enforce a standard among employees to appear neat and tidy, like in most business houses and law firms. On the other hand, it is unnecessary for people who work behind the scenes do not have to stress on the hassle of dressing smartly. While they might need to dress carefully during special meetings or presentations, it proves to be an issue to choose to wear a suit and tie every single day. The belief has also risen in people that clothes are a part of creative expression, so having a uniform in a company is seen as a suppression of their creative freedom. In my opinion, companies should not implement a dressing code to dress a certain way unless it does not align with the core values of the industry. Allowing employees to dress comfortably has proved to make them more productive in their work. Hence, corporate giants, these days are implementing this rule. I