The manufactured edible products containing high levels of sugar can cause a number of health complications. To restrict people from consuming more such sugary products, they must be made more costly.

The manufactured edible products containing high levels of sugar can cause a number of health complications. To restrict people from consuming more such sugary products, they must be made more costly. In my opinion, this may not be a pragmatic approach. To support my view, let's discuss few points in detail. Firstly, checking in history, it is evident that people find some or other way to get the food of interest. Since, sweet food is a major part of todays diet, it is impossible to remove such component for one's food. For example, let's consider alcohol and tabaco which are injuries to health. Many governments tried to control it by hiking the rates. As a result, demand for such items in black market has peaked. Similarly, increasing prices will lead to a lot of demand black market which is further more difficult to control. Second, most of food and drink companies contribute a significant role in countries economy. Increasing the value of such goods may disturb the market, leading to instability and chaos. For example, let's say if the prices of products of companies like cocola which play a key player in soft drink industry across many countries are doubled. This change in price will effect the revenue of the companies and in turn the government's income. Such acts may lead to economic depression as these organizations are key industries in some countries. Adding up, there are many other forms of sugar which are less harmful to health. Incorporating such innovations may help solve this problem just by replacing the harmful sweetening agents with better substances. For example, there are many sweeting products available in the market that replace sugar in tea and home cooked food for diabetic patients. Usage of such items can easily solve this issue. To conclude, surge in price of these commodities may not be the optimal way to restrict the public from consuming the sugary products. Therefore, is best if more innovative practices are involved in manufacturing such foods is better than making harsh judgements such as price hiking.