The majority of news being reported is bad news. Why do you think this is? Should bad news be banned?

The circulation of news is of paramount significance to every individual’s life in this dynamic world. However, the anomaly is that an ever-increasing amount of bad news – natural calamities, corruptions, civil wars, traffic accidents and so on – more than often dominates the headlights and press coverage. From my perspective, this phenomenon results from people’s preference for depressing stories and events over positive ones. Needless to say, spectators’s predilection for bad news is the main reason why such news is everywhere. Numerous experiments show that we react more quickly and sensitively to tragic stories or sudden disasters than auspicious events. The reason for this is rooted in human nature. From the dawn of history, human ancestors acquired an inherent vigilance for potential dangers. That instinct appears to still exist in this sphere of our lives, which prompts us to look out for negative signs. In other words, our tendency towards bad news simply reflects our caution for threats. On top of that, high ratings and reactions of morose stories provide an outlet for our desire of “negativity” in such a “perfect” world. Most people hold a cynical view that there is always hidden “dark” sides to seemingly “light” stories, that the world is not so nice as it seems, that the people are not so kind as they seem. Therefore, any breaking news that threatens to destroy long - lasting images of prominent figures like politicians and businessmen is a magnet to the public eye. The distrust and cynicism among people is so great insofar as “. . . Any printed lie that any notorious villain pens, although it militate directly against the character and conduct of a life, appeals at once to [our] distrust, and is believed” – Charles Dickens. Though this disproportion amount of negativity in the media may have harmful effects, it should not be banned. Such urgent issues as imminent natural calamities are a matter of life and death to many people, therefore they should by all means be well-informed by mass media. Instead of banning, a more practical approach could be to bring more happiness - induced stories to the fore and limit the creation of dismaying ones. In this way, people will not only avoid frustration and atrocity accumulated from too many reported negative news, but also be able to keep abreast of vital current affairs. To recapitulate, an equilibrium between good and bad news is necessary. Therefore, the circulation of news should be regulated meticulously.