The main purpose of public libraries is to provide books and they shouldn’t waste their limited resources and space on providing expensive hi-tech media such as computer software, videos and DVDs. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

It is the purpose of every library to contain useful information. In the past, libraries used to have only books, but things have changed. Computers, DVDs and eBooks are adding to the area nowadays. However, some people think it is a waste of money and space. It is true that books provide knowledge, but computers and other types of technology now contain a lot of useful information too. In the old days, books were the only source of information. Despite this, it has been proved that some books contain false information because information always changes. Not only that, they also require publishing which uses up a lot of paper in the process. This also means cutting down trees. As a result, the climate change problem won’t be solved at all. Still, I am not saying that books shouldn’t exist, but that they should use more environmentally friendly papers. With the help of technology, everything doesn’t have to be published in the form of books anymore. Although too much technology can harm both your mental and physical health, they do have positive aspects that help. They are very convenient when placed in public libraries. They also provide more information than books can. Software or DVDs are very easy to use. Not to mention that it’s a good investment, these gadgets will last even longer than normal books. Even though the prices can sometimes be high, a variety of choices are provided everywhere. Some brands do sell standard computers with affordable prices so if you’re short on budget, these choices are always available as options. All in all, I think it is a perfect combination to put high technology in public libraries since they help a lot in many aspects. High prices can also be avoided. Personally, I really think it is an awesome investment, and would satisfy all types of customers by having all options available in public libraries where people can easily reach the information.