Everybody should be allowed admission to university or college programs regardless of their level of academic ability. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from you own knowledge or experience.

In this day and age, most people are pursuing a university degree to improve their lives. Some believe that everyone has the right to enroll themselves to any higher education institution, even if their academic ability is not adequate enough. I partly agree with this opinion and think that, while everybody, irrespective of their knowledge and skills, should be admitted to higher education programs, also universities should publish minimum requirements to decide whether a person is eligible for admission. Everybody should have the freedom to education, and this includes education beyond high school. If one does not allow anyone to have access to education, this equals limiting people’s opportunities to have a better life condition. Some studies also show a significant correlation between the quality of life one can receive and higher education completion. For instance, those who have acquired a degree would have a better chance to get job security. This is why it is better not to set any limitations for anyone who wishes to pursue higher education. On the other hand, universities ought to set some standards of admission to the public. Therefore, the prospective students will measure whether they are eligible or not to join the program. For example, suppose one is willing to take a Master of Business Administration when they have no working experience. In that case, they should avoid a program which demand the students to have a work experience. The reason why universities set this eligibility is that they do not include an internship in their curriculum. Meanwhile, the final assignment for the students to graduate will be related to real-life practices. Thus, it is imperative and reasonable for higher education to include admission criteria. To conclude, I believe while it is appropriate for higher education institutions to establish eligibility for their study programs, people should not be told whether they are worthy or not to pursue a degree.