The main purpose of public libraries is to provide books, and they should not waste their limited resources and space on providing expensive hi-tech media such as computer software, videos and DVDs. with this statement?

A group of individuals have opinion that, the main objective of libraries is to provide printed material only to general public rather than investing their resources on other sources such as computers and its software and DVDs. However, to a major extent I disagree with this notion. My inclination is justified in the ensuing paragraphs with logical reasoning. The first argument to support my inclination is that, most importantly, we are living in 21st century and therefore it is necessary to upgrade our shelves. By this I mean that, using a technology with the education is not a bad idea. Most of the academic students find the reading material is boring. They prefer to read and learn these things through internet and they find this is fascinating. To illustrate, in Australia many of the traditional libraries now provides E-media to their student during their academics and as per survey due to this, their personal grade is increases. Thus, it creates the positive impact on education. In addition to this, this technology development creates a personal interest to all age group. This is to say that, in the previous time, the library is place to visit only for those who engaged with studies or research area. On the contrary, now most of all age people visit this and access the information as per their taste. An apt example of this, kids visit there for studies, youth for research whereas, elderly for reading mythology and cultural books. Therefore, accessibility increases and as a result the usage of library is increase. Nevertheless, I cannot over look other sides too. To begin with, libraries creates not only disciplinary environment for studies but also provides a peaceful environment which is require for concentration and focus on studies. Moreover, this place has its own significance since a of long time. If this advancement is use in improper way, the original aim will vanished. To illustrate, using an internet if student surfing gaming or social sites, then it is not the aim of library. Therefore, these are certain drawbacks. To sum up, there are certain demerits such as distraction from studies although I believe this involvement of technology not only beneficial for the person who visits there but also for the library man. If careful vision and strict rules are formed by authority in library, this advancement is very helpful.