Some people think the most important skill nurses should have is having good medical knowledge. Others believe there are other more important qualities.

Nurses are a vital part of health sector. Certain people believe nurses should possess a expertise medical skills and others believe personnel qualities are the priority. I believe it is essential to be competent on medical capabilities combined with other skills. This essay will discuss about these two points and my perspectives towards this statement. Utterly crucial factor which a successful nurse should possess is an adequate level of medical expertise. Such knowledge is essential to diagnose the correct requirement in the correct time for a particular patient. For example, they should be able to identify the problem and direct the patient to the correct department in a medical emergency. Furthermore, nurses are responsible for serving medicines to the patients. Therefore, in-depth medical knowledge is required for a accurate identification of prescribed medicine and to avoid any mistakes. Because, such mistakes may lead to a death of a patient which is a seriously concerned matter. Going forward, a nurse who has a proper skill set of medical essentialities could support doctors in an effective way as well. Additionally, there are certain other factors such as kind-hearted, adaptation and pro-activeness which a particular nurse should entertain to provide a better service to the public. Most importantly, nurses should be kind enough to the patients. Because, patients will be further depressed if they have to face harassment from an aggressive nurse. Moreover, nurses would have to experience unpleasant situations such as vomiting, unintentional urinations, cleaning sensitive body areas etc. Therefore, they should have to have the adaptability to face such uncomfortable situations. Furthermore, a successful nurse should be pro-active and be able to carry out her/his tasks swiftly under pressure, particularly during a surgery. In my opinion, I believe medical knowledge is the most important area of expertise which a nurse should possess. But, medical knowledge alone is not adequate enough to provide a quality service to the public. In conclusion, combination of proper medical knowledge with the other qualities which described above is essential in defining a successful role of a nurse.