Public transport is essential but problematic. Describe some of the problems connected to public transport and suggest some solutions

It’s a common perception that public transport has its share of problems. Although there are a number of problems that hinder good public service, there are several suggestions to tackle these. Governments have a history of implementing public transport systems badly. Bus networks are typically crowded, slow and infrequent. People typically spend more time waiting for buses than travelling on them, and when they do the experience is far from satisfactory. On the other hand, whereas light rail systems and subways are more efficient, they are often not extensive enough to benefit most city residents. Most people in developed countries live on the outskirts of cities in suburbs and satellite towns. As a result it is often not economically viable for mass transit systems to run everywhere, which reduces the convenience of passengers who in general prefer to take their own transport to get around. To improve public transport, governments may start by increasing the efficiency of mass transportation systems like buses through traffic management schemes like London’s congestion charges where all drivers pay a flat charge to enter the city center. This would help to fund the bus network, and the decreased traffic would bring about faster bus rides. A further suggestion may be to extend accessibility through more innovative schemes such as ‘Park and Ride’ in which people park outside the city and take the bus or train into the center. Finally, improving the end-user experience of surface systems would increase ridership. Simple touches such as making train carriages more spacious, and increasing bus service frequency would encourage more bus and train riders to use public transport. In conclusion, congestion charges, parking schemes and improving the experience of the end-user would change the negative perception of public transport and increase ridership overall.