The main environmental problem of our time

According to some people, the extinction of plants and animals is the biggest environmental threat we face today. While I do not admit that this is a major issue, in my opinion, there are even bigger causes for concern. The loss of some plants and animals certainly poses a challenge. It will break the food chain and cause problems. For example, when predatory animals like lions and tigers at the top of the pyramid disappear, it will lead to an uncontrollable increase in the number of herbivores. Unfortunately, this development will hurt farm yield as animals like deer, rabbits and pigs will become vermin and eat up farm produce. This will lead to food scarcity all over the world. On the other hand, climate change caused by human activity is an even bigger challenge. Due to pollution and the resultant green house gas effect, global temperatures are rising. This causes the melting the polar ice and the subsequent increase in sea levels. Major coastal cities all over the world are already facing the risk of getting submerged in the oceans. Climate change also leads to more frequent occurrences of droughts and flooding. This affects food production. Another issue is the health problems in both humans and animals. Many forms of birds and animals can no longer survive in the highly polluted urban areas. People living in such places are facing various health problems like asthma and cancer. If the temperatures continue to rise at this pace, the planet may become inhabitable 2 or 3 centuries down the lane. Obviously, climate change is a bigger threat than the extinction of wildlife. In conclusion, the extinction of wildlife and the resultant loss of biodiversity is certainly a grave issue. However, climate change and the associated problems are even bigger challenges as they can threaten the very existence of life on the planet.